Outreach Centers determined for disaster loans

Indiana Governor Mike Pence (WLFI File Photo)
Indiana Governor Mike Pence (WLFI File Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS (WLFI) – Indiana Gov. Mike Pence announced Wednesday that his request for low-interest federal disaster loans was successful.

Pence said the low-interest federal disaster loans will be available to citizens, businesses and certain non-profit organizations in 19 counties as a result of damage from severe weather on Nov. 17, 2013.

In a press release to News 18 Pence said, “Hoosiers are still struggling to recover from the aftermath of the November tornadoes in Indiana. We’re pleased that the U.S. Small Business Administration has agreed to provide low-interest federal disaster loans to assist Hoosiers, businesses and non-profit organizations as they work to repair damage in the days and weeks ahead.”

The loan program is administered by the U.S. Small Business Administration. Disaster Loan Outreach Centers will be established in Daviess, Fountain, and Howard counties, which were the primary counties requested.

Other counties that are eligible because they are contiguous are Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Dubois, Grant, Greene, Knox, Martin, Miami, Montgomery, Parke, Pike, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vermillion and Warren.

Residents can apply at loan centers. The locations and hours were announced Thursday and are listed below. Hoosiers in eligible counties can apply online for an SBA disaster loan, by clicking here.

Business loan applications can also be downloaded from the SBA website, by clicking here.

For more information for individuals and businesses, please call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955, or 800-877-8339 for people with speech or hearing disabilities. Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

The first deadline to return applications is April 7.

Some counties have determined locations and hours for Disaster Loan Outreach Centers.

Howard County:

Howard County Government Center – Dept. of Emergency Management
120 East Mulberry St. Suite 6
Kokomo, IN 46901

Friday, Feb. 7 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 8 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 9 CLOSED
Monday, Feb. 10 from 8 a.m to 4 p.m.
Closing Tuesday, Feb. 11 at noon.

Reopens Tuesday, Feb. 18 from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 19 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Closing Wednesday, Feb. 19 at close of business

Fountain County:

Hillsboro Church of the Nazarene – Gym Building
453 South State Road 341
Hillsboro, IN 47949

Wednesday, Feb. 12 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 13 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Closing Thursday, Feb. 13 at close of business

Daviess County:

Washington Fire Station #2
1002 West Walnut St.
Washington, IN 47501

Friday, Feb. 14 from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 15 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 16 CLOSED
Monday, Feb. 17 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Closing Monday, Feb. 17 at 1 p.m.

WLFI.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s