21st Century grants to area school corporations

WLFI File Photo
WLFI File Photo

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (WLFI) – Three area school corporations from the News 18 viewing area were awarded learning grants from the state of Indiana.

Five-three organizations with after-school programs were named recipients of this year’s 21st Century Community Learning Center grants. The Indiana Department of Education said these grants are designed to provide academic enrichment opportunities for students. Grants range from $50,000 to $300,000, with a total awarded for 2014 at approximately $11.1 million.

Locally, three area schools were included in the recipient list. Crawfordsville Community Schools will receive $250,000, Community Schools of Frankfort will be awarded $175,000, and the Lafayette School Corporation will be provided $150,000.

Superintendent for Public Instruction Glenda Ritz said she is honored to give these awards to organizations which work every day to strengthen our communities.

“I look forward to working with these community organizations over the coming years as we continue to increase student performance throughout Indiana,” Ritz said in a press release. “These groups work throughout the state to support student learning and development in communities affected by poverty.

Indiana Department of Education officials said the learning centers provide services to support student learning and development, including academic enrichment, tutoring, mentoring, homework assistance and cultural activities. In addition, they offer literacy and other educational services to the families of participating children.

The 21st Century Community Learning Centers program is an after school initiative authorized under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. These programs are designed specifically to assist students who attend high-poverty and low-performing schools.

21st Century Community Learning Centers Grants 2014 Recipients:

  • A Better Way Services, Inc. $275,000
  • Archdiocese of Indianapolis $300,000
  • AYS, Inc. $175,000
  • Ball State University $200,000
  • Barbara B. Jordan YMCA $150,000
  • Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation $165,000
  • Beech Grove City Schools $175,000
  • Blue River Services, Inc. $250,000
  • Boys & Girls Club of Indianapolis $300,000
  • Boys & Girls Club of Morgan County $150,000
  • Boys & Girls Club of St. Joseph County $300,000
  • Boys & Girls Club of Wayne County $125,000
  • Boys & Girls of Huntington County, Inc. $200,000
  • Christel House Academy $200,000
  • Communities in Schools of Clark County, Inc. $250,000
  • Communities in Schools of East Chicago $150,000
  • Community Schools of Frankfort $175,000
  • Crawford County Community School Corporation $275,000
  • Crawfordsville Community Schools $250,000
  • East Allen Family Resource Center $175,000
  • Elkhart Community Schools $150,000
  • Emma Donnan Middle School $150,000
  • Emmerich Manual High School $150,000
  • Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation $275,000
  • Hoosier Uplands Economic Development Corporation $275,000
  • Indiana Alliance of Boys & Girls Clubs $300,000
  • John H. Boner Community Center $300,000
  • Lafayette School Corporation $150,000
  • Lake Ridge Schools $175,000
  • Martin University $175,000
  • Medora Community Schools $200,000
  • Michigan City Area Schools $300,000
  • Monroe County Community School Corporation $300,000
  • MSD of Decatur Township $150,000
  • MSD of Pike Township $275,000
  • MSD of Warren Township $275,000
  • New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation $250,000
  • New Prairie United School Corp $175,000
  • North Adams Community Schools $300,000
  • Paramount School of Excellence $175,000
  • Perry Central Community School Corporation $160,000
  • Ruth Lilly Health Education Center $150,000
  • Scott County School District 1 $275,000
  • Scott County School District 2 $175,000
  • South Bend Community School Corporation $50,000
  • Southwest Dubois County School Corporation $225,000
  • Steuben County Literacy Coalition $250,000
  • T.C. Howe Community High School $125,000
  • Tell City-Troy Township School Corporation $200,000
  • The Link/Whitewater College Programs, Inc. $175,000
  • The Starke County Youth Club, Inc. $175,000
  • Vigo County School Corporation $150,000
  • YMCA of Southwestern Indiana $280,000

WLFI.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s