FEMA has denied Indiana snowstorm aid

WLFI File Photo
WLFI File Photo

INDIANAPOLIS (WLFI) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has denied Indiana’s request for aid following the snowstorm in early January.

Counties named in the request included Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fountain, Jasper, Warren and White.

According to the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, the grant request fell under FEMA’s designation of public assistance.

That money would pay 75 percent of eligible expenses towards debris clean up, snow removal and damage to buildings and equipment.

The state plans to appeal FEMA’s decision.

WLFI.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus