Eleven schools in Tippecanoe Co. receive four star rating

WLFI File Photo
WLFI File Photo

TIPPECANOE CO., Ind. (WLFI) – At Murdock Elementary School, balloons and signs boast the schools recent recognition as a four star school. Although it’s the second year in a row to receive the rating, principal Janell Uerkwitz said it has taken a lot of work to get to this point.

“A few years ago, we really focused on making changes in our school,” said Uerkwitz.

Uerkwitz said the teachers committed to developing academic calendars, while using student assessments to make sure students were mastering subjects. However, the teachers weren’t the only ones working hard to earn the Four Star Rating.

“The children set goals with themselves. We meet with the kids, and they’re aware of what they know and where they are, and what they have to do to improve,” said Uerkwitz.

In order to qualify for a four star rating, a school must be in the 25th percentile in math and language arts based on its ISTEP score.

Wyandotte Elementary Principal Mary Beth Fitzgerald said she is proud of her school for earning a four star rating. But she said just because a school didn’t earn four stars, it doesn’t mean they aren’t providing a quality education.

“There are so many more things. Great teachers go into place, parents volunteering into the classroom, community, students coming in ready to work, and I think that this is only one part that tells that it’s a great school,” said Fitzgerald.

Although it may not be the only indicator of a great school, Uerkwitz said earning the four stars shows children that working hard in school pays off.

“We’re teaching them at a really young age that this is critical and that we should celebrate our success, but never too long because we still need to work hard,” said Uerkwitz.

The following 11 schools within Tippecanoe County qualified and were recognized as a four star school for the 2012-2013 school year.

  • Central Catholic Jr.-Sr. High School
  • Cumberland Elementary School
  • Edgelea Elementary School
  • Glen Acres Elementary School
  • Happy Hollow Elementary School
  • Harrison High School
  • Hershey Elementary School
  • Murdock Elementary School
  • St. Lawrence Elementary School
  • West Lafayette Jr.-Sr. High School
  • Wyandotte Elementary School

For a complete list of schools that received the award, click here.

WLFI.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s