State wins FEMA appeal after January storms

WLFI File Photo
WLFI File Photo

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Indiana will get federal disaster assistance for January’s winter storms, after a successful appeal of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s initial denial of help.

FEMA has now agreed to a major disaster declaration in 19 counties for the storms that hit Jan. 5-9. Many counties were also denied assistance, including Boone, Madison, Morgan and Tipton counties.

Counties receiving help will be eligible for grants that cover 75 percent of costs related to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, rescue operations and other similar expenses.

The counties included for assistance are Boone, Clay, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Kosciusko, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley.

blog comments powered by Disqus