Varsho named to Capital One Academic All-America First Team

Courtesy: Purdue Sports
Courtesy: Purdue Sports

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (Purdue Sports) – Senior outfielder Andie Varsho was honored for her success in the classroom with Capital One Academic All-America first team honors on Thursday.

The honor, which is the highest that may be attained for academics in softball, is just the second first team Academic All-America honor in Purdue softball history, matching Jenny Schoen’s 1998 achievement, and also makes Varsho the first two-time Academic All-American in program history.

Varsho, who was a third team Academic All-America honoree in 2013, is an organizational leadership and supervision major and will graduate in August. The two-time Academic All-District and three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree was selected to the Mortar Board Honorary, which celebrates excellence in scholarship, leadership and service in 2013.

On the field, the outfielder was a three-time All-Midwest Region and three-time All-Big Ten selection. She is in the running for NFCA All-America honors which will be announced on May 28. The Chili, Wis., native is Purdue’s all-time leader in hits and batting average and ranks second in career stolen bases, doubles, runs and on-base percentage.

In 2014, Varsho was named to the USA Softball Top 50 Player of the Year Watchlist and as one of 30 candidates nationally for the Senior CLASS Award. She posted a team-leading .416 batting average with 45 runs, 16 doubles and 26 stolen bases, while putting together a school-record 22-game hitting streak. The senior reached base in 51 of the team’s 56 games and tied the school game records for doubles and hits en route to first team All-Midwest Region and first team All-Big Ten honors.

Varsho ranked 44th nationally in batting average and 48th in stolen bases and led Purdue in hits, doubles, stolen bases and on-base percentage.

Jenny Schoen was Purdue softball’s first Academic All-American earning GTE first team honors in 1998. Mandy Smart earned second team accolades in 1999. Lynne Tortorelli (2001), Andrea Hillsey (2003) and Tricia Lilly (2006) all garnered third team acclaim as did Varsho in 2013. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s