Indianapolis lands Championship tourneys

Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. (WISH File Photo)
Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. (WISH File Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS (WLFI) — Indianapolis lands the Big Ten Football Championship through 2021 and will share hosting duties for the conference’s Basketball Tournament with Chicago through 2020, the Big Ten announced Thursday.

According to our news partners at Indianapolis Business Journal, Lucas Oil Stadium will continue to host the football championship through 2021. Bankers Life Fieldhouse will host the basketball tourney in 2020 and 2022, with Chicago’s United Center taking it in 2019 and 2021.

Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany said in release, “We are proud of the history that we have developed with these two great cities and look forward to maintaining a significant presence in both locations.”

IBJ reported the championships bring in big money for host cities. The football championship is typically ballparked between $12 million and $15 million when hosted in Indy, according to hospitality officials. They said it is similar for the basketball tourney — between $11 million and $14 million.

Officials stated that Indianapolis headed into these negotiations immediately after failing to land the 2018 Super Bowl bid. Indy went into negotiations for Big Ten football and basketball events, as well as future Final Fours and 2020 Olympic trials.

In addition, Indianapolis will host the women’s basketball tournament from 2017-22.

Here is the schedule breakdown, provided by IBJ, of the different championship events through 2020:

Big Ten Football Championship Game

Previously Awarded – Indianapolis (2014-2015)
Today’s Announcement – Indianapolis (2016-2021)

Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament

Previously Awarded – Chicago (2015), Indianapolis (2016), Washington, D.C. (2017)
Today’s Announcement – Chicago (2019, 2021) and Indianapolis (2020, 2022)
**2018 Tournament will be announced by the Big Ten at a later date

Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament

Previously Awarded – Chicago (2015), Indianapolis (2016)
Today’s Announcement – Indianapolis (2017-2022) provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s