Is your county issuing gay marriage licenses?

FILE - The wedding rings of a gay couple are seen in this photo after they were officially married. (AP File Photo/Matt Dunham)
FILE - The wedding rings of a gay couple are seen in this photo after they were officially married. (AP File Photo/Matt Dunham)

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Many Indiana counties are now issuing marriage licenses.

On Friday, one county clerk said the expect to have a new form from the state beginning of next week.

On Wednesday, counties not issuing licenses had varied reasons. However, many said they were waiting to hear from the attorney general’s office or receive a court mandate. Others had concerns about forms that had blanks for male or female, but wouldn’t allow for both on one form.

Zoeller’s office said all Indiana counties would be notified by his office when the judge ruled on Zoeller’s emergency motion seeking a stay pending appeal.

As of Friday, the following is the list of counties not issuing marriage licenses:

  • Adams
  • Clay
  • Daviess
  • Decatur
  • Franklin
  • Grant
  • Warren
  • Wells

The following counties are issuing marriage licenses as of Friday:

  • Allen
  • Bartholomew
  • Benton
  • Blackford
  • Boone
  • Brown
  • Carroll
  • Cass
  • Clark
  • Clinton
  • Crawford
  • DeKalb
  • Delaware
  • Dearborn
  • Dubois
  • Elkhart
  • Fayette
  • Floyd
  • Fountain
  • Fulton
  • Gibson
  • Greene
  • Hamilton
  • Hancock
  • Harrison
  • Hendricks
  • Henry
  • Howard
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jay
  • Jefferson (But waiting on forms to be updated)
  • Jennings
  • Johnson
  • Knox
  • Kosciusko
  • Lagrange
  • Lake
  • LaPorte
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Marshall
  • Martin
  • Miami
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Newton
  • Noble
  • Ohio
  • Orange
  • Owen
  • Parke (once the form is updated)
  • Perry
  • Pike
  • Porter
  • Posey
  • Pulaski
  • Putnam
  • Randolph
  • Ripley
  • Rush
  • Scott
  • Shelby
  • Spencer
  • St. Joseph
  • Starke
  • Steuben
  • Sullivan
  • Switzerland
  • Tippecanoe
  • Tipton
  • Union
  • Vanderburgh
  • Vermillion
  • Vigo
  • Wabash
  • Warrick
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • White
  • Whitley

Kathryn Dolan, public information officer for the Indiana Supreme Court, said the form technically belongs to the Indiana State Department of Health because Indiana Code dictates all marriage licenses go through that department.

“We, the court, cannot simply change a state form,” Dolan said. “The department of health perhaps could direct us to change that form, and maybe they will.”

The list will be updated as we continue to contact county officials. Check back to for updates on this story. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s