Logan Sowers on winning Mr. Baseball

McCutcheon's Logan Sowers talks about winning Mr. Baseball
McCutcheon's Logan Sowers talks about winning Mr. Baseball

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (WLFI) – On Friday night Logan Sowers joined an elite group of student athletes when he was named Mr. Baseball. He’s the second McCutcheon Maverick to be given the award and he joined us in studio Sunday night.

It’s been a whirlwind couple months for Sowers. He graduated high school, was selected in the 31st round of the MLB draft by the San Diego Padres, turned down the money, and stuck with his original plan to head to Bloomington to play baseball for the Hoosiers.

Sowers gets the nod as the top senior player in Indiana, joining Clayton Richard as the only other Maverick to win the honor. Richard was Indiana Mr. Baseball in 2003.

Indiana Mr. Baseball winners

1992 — Chip Pettit (Crown Point)

1993 — Scott Rolen (Jasper)

1994 — Allen Stunkel (Gibson Southern)

1995 — Brad Weber (DeKalb)

1996 — A.J. Zapp (Center Grove)

1997 — Matt Mauck (Jasper)

1998 — J.D. Closser (Alexandria)

1999 — Bryan Bullington (Madison)

2000 — Jim Brauer (Carmel)

2001 — Wes Whisler (Noblesville)

2002 —Adam Lind (Anderson Highland)

2003 — Clayton Richard (McCutcheon)

2004 — Tim LeMasters (Perry Meridian)

2005 —Lance Lynn (Brownsburg)

2006 — Josh Phegley (Terre Haute North)

2007 — Jarrod Parker (Norwell)

2008 — Alex Meyer (Greensburg)

2009 — Tucker Barnhart (Brownsburg)

2010 — Justin O’Conner (Cowan)

2011 — A.J. Reed (Terre Haute South)

2012 — Will Coursen-Carr (Fort Wayne South)

2013 — Tanner Tully (Elkhart Central)

2014 — Logan Sowers (McCutcheon)

WLFI.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, off topic, or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

  • http://wlfi.com/2015/03/02/former-mccutcheon-player-earns-big-ten-honors/ Former McCutcheon player earns Big Ten honors | wlfi.com

    […] Sowers, a McCutcheon grad, was named Indiana’s Mr. Baseball in 2014 — an honor given to the top high school players in the state. Sowers made an appearance on the Friday Night Frenzy discussing his reaction to such an elite award. […]

blog comments powered by Disqus