Voter registration fraud investigation now includes 56 counties

(WLFI File Photo)
(WLFI File Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS (WLFI/AP) — Indiana State Police have extended the voter registration fraud to include 56 of Indiana’s 92 counties.

State police began the investigation in mid-September with only two counties, Marion and Hendricks, after detectives confirmed several instances of fraudulent voter registration forms being submitted. They said the forms had missing, incomplete and incorrect information.

A few weeks later, on Oct. 4, ISP extended the search to include a total of nine counties.

Two days later, 57 counties are now included in the investigation. Spokesman Capt. Dave Bursten made the announcement Thursday, but he would not provide any details on the reason for the expansion.

According to the Associated Press, the announcement came about an hour after Patriot Majority USA — the group under investigation in the nine counties named Tuesday — said it has asked the U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division to look into whether the investigation is an attempt to suppress black votes.

Bursten denied any attempt to suppress votes, telling the AP the investigation has followed proper procedures. He said it has looked into whether fraudulent names or addresses were used in registering voters.

State police said while they normally don’t provide updates on an active investigation, it released information on this case because the deadline for Indiana voters to register or update their voter registration information is Tuesday, Oct. 11. To check your voter registration’s accuracy, click here.

Here’s a full list of the counties:

  1. Adams
  2. Allen
  3. Bartholomew
  4. Benton
  5. Blackford
  6. Boone
  7. Brown
  8. Carroll
  9. Cass
  10. Clark
  11. Clay
  12. Clinton
  13. Daviess
  14. Dearborn
  15. Decatur
  16. DeKalb
  17. Delaware
  18. Dubois
  19. Elkhart
  20. Fayette
  21. Floyd
  22. Franklin
  23. Fulton
  24. Gibson
  25. Grant
  26. Greene
  27. Hamilton
  28. Hancock
  29. Harrison
  30. Hendricks
  31. Henry
  32. Howard
  33. Huntington
  34. Jackson
  35. Jasper
  36. Jay
  37. Jefferson
  38. Jennings
  39. Johnson
  40. Knox
  41. Kosciusko
  42. LaGrange
  43. Lake
  44. LaPorte
  45. Lawrence
  46. Madison
  47. Marion
  48. Marshall
  49. Martin
  50. Miami
  51. Monroe
  52. Montgomery
  53. Morgan
  54. Newton
  55. Noble
  56. Owen