Sally Siegrist comes out on top for the Indiana House District 26 seat

WLFI Photo
WLFI Photo

TIPPECANOE COUNTY, Ind. (WLFI) — In the Democratic-leaning House, District 26, it appears voters crossed party lines again to replace Republican Randy Truitt in the Statehouse.

Republican Sally Siegrist was declared the winner Tuesday night. Wednesday morning when results were final, Siegrist received 53 percent of the vote and Democrat Victoria Woeste had 47 percent.

Siegrist joined us live on News 18 at 11 from the Tippecanoe County Office Building to tell us how she’s feeling after being announced the winner.

“I’m feeling very humbled, excited, very pleased and just very grateful,” she said.

News 18 asked how she felt about the positive campaign agreement she signed with Woeste.

“It went perfectly,” said Siegrist. “Our campaign was able to stay positive from start to finish, nobody from our side issued a negative statement, wrote a negative letter, nothing. And I am thrilled, just beyond excited that a positive campaign can work.”

Siegrist said she thinks Randy Truitt tee’d it up nicely for her when he asked how another Republican could get elected in a typically democratic-leaning district.

Before celebrating in downtown Lafayette, Siegrist officially stepped down from the Tippecanoe County Council with mixed feelings.

“I’ve enjoyed my time on the county council so much and being involved with six other members who are just outstanding council members,” said Siegrist. “I’m kind of melancholy to be leaving, but I’m very excited to be going to the Statehouse too.”

We asked to interview Woeste after the results, but she went home shortly before the final numbers were released.